Hamish Blake wins Gold Logie, Tony Armstrong wins first Logie, Patti Newton honours late husband Bert

It’s bewildering to think that the last time the Logie Awards were on COVID wasn’t a thing, RAT was a rodent not an acronym, and “iso” had yet to enter the national lexicon.

The 62nd TV Week Logie Awards will take place tonight at Queensland’s Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre, and a fair bit has changed since we last celebrated TV’s night of nights. Here’s what you need to know.

The Silver Logie for most popular presenter has been renamed the Bert Newton Award to honour the late, great Bert Newton.

Who is eligible after the two-year break?

Given the sheer length of time between the upcoming Logies and the previous awards, organisers decided on a slightly extended cut-off date for eligibility.

For any host, actor, actress or program to be eligible for nomination, their work or the show had to air between January 1, 2021 and March 31, 2022, except for the category of outstanding sports coverage, which covers the period from January 1, 2021 to March 14, 2022.

Unfortunately for programs that aired throughout 2020 and the actors that starred in them or the talent that hosted them, they are ineligible for nomination.

What time does it start?

The action from the red carpet and awards show will be broadcast on Nine and streaming on 9Now (Nine is the publisher of this masthead). Red carpet coverage kicks off at 7pm and is being hosted by Leila McKinnon, David Campbell and Renee Bargh, while the awards begin at 7:30pm.

Any changes we need to know about?

Yes, there are a few, actually. The Silver Logie for most popular presenter will be renamed the Bert Newton Award to honour the late, great Bert Newton, who sadly passed last October. The award will be handed out by Bert’s wife, Patti.

The Logie Awards have also introduced a brand-new award, a Silver Logie for most popular Australian actor or actress in an international program. The award acknowledges the significant number of Australians making their mark across the globe in international hits. This year’s nominees include Succession star Sarah Snook and Murray Bartlett from The White Lotus.

For more, read the full story here.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: